About us

EUR-OPA Major Hazards Agreement,
a tool for international co-operation

Visit the website

The EUR-OPA Major Hazards Agreement is a platform for co-operation in the field of major natural and technological disasters set up by the Council of Europe in 1987

Its main objectives are to reinforce and to promote co-operation between member states in a multi-disciplinary context to ensure better prevention, protection against risks and preparedness in the event of disasters.

EUR-OPA has two main areas of action:

  • At the political level, via Ministerial Meetings and Committees, representatives discuss hazard-related issues of common interest, identify best practices and adopt recommendations. These meetings allow the exchange and sharing of information on relevant topics between participating countries and reinforce networks of specialized institutions.
  • At the scientific and technical level, participating centres develop joint research and cooperation projects, both at national and regional levels, which aim to improve the awareness of and resilience to major risks within the population.

Member states

To date, EUR-OPA is formed by 25 member states, including member and non-members states of the Council of Europe.

List of centres

Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Greece, Luxembourg, Malta, Republic of Moldova, Monaco, North Macedonia, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Ukraine, Algeria, Lebanon, and Morocco.